HOME: Cultural Plant Walks with Angela Kingsawan

Repeats every day until Sat Mar 12 2022 . Also includes Sat Apr 09 2022, Sat May 14 2022, Sat Jun 11 2022, Sat Jul 09 2022, Sat Aug 06 2022.
March 12, 2022 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
April 9, 2022 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
May 14, 2022 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
June 11, 2022 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
July 9, 2022 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
August 6, 2022 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Photo: Kim Khaira

Upcoming sessions:
Saturday, March 12, 2022
Saturday, April 9, 2022
Saturday, May 14, 2022
Saturday, June 11, 2022
Saturday, July 9, 2022
Saturday, August 6, 2022

Fee: Free.
Registration: Space is limited; advance registration required. Click here to register.

Native herbalist and artist-in-residence Angela Kingsawan of Yenepa Herbs leads a series of guided tours of Lynden's narrative gardens. There are several gardens at Lynden that tell stories of specific cultures and moments in history. Join us each month for a fun and informative outing to learn about the plants identified and cultivated by Kingsawan that hold significance as food, medicine, and tradition within the exchange and migration of refugee, immigrant, and Indigenous communities.

About Angela Kingsawan
Angela Kingsawan is an Indigenous person of Raramuri, Tigua, and Mexica descent. She has been a Community Health Worker for many years and draws on her experience as an herbalist, yogini, reiki practitioner, full-spectrum doula, writer, artist, and mother to help uplift Communities of Culture throughout Wisconsin. She was born and raised on the south side of Milwaukee and uses her unique perspective as an urban Native person to teach modern herbalism infused with Native tradition. By providing decolonized education, seed exchanges, and growing culturally significant plants in an urban setting, Kingsawan strives to help community members remember their cultural ways of being. Angela’s residency project at Lynden, Materia Medica of the Ancients: Connecting to Beauty, Blessings, and Breath draws on her personal journey of decolonization and cross-cultural learning to honor Indigenous teachings from around the globe.


©2022 Lynden Sculpture Garden